Skip to main content

European Green Capital Award - About the EU Green Capital Award


The European Green Capital Award is the result of an initiative taken by 15 European cities (Tallinn, Helsinki, Riga, Vilnius, Berlin, Warsaw, Madrid, Ljubljana, Prague, Vienna, Kiel, Kotka, Dartford, Tartu & Glasgow) and the Association of Estonian cities on 15 May 2006 in Tallinn, Estonia.

Their green vision was translated into a joint Memorandum of Understanding establishing an Award to recognise cities that are leading the way with environmentally friendly urban living. The initiative was launched by the European Commission in 2008.

The overarching message that the Award scheme aims to communicate to the local level is that Europeans have a right to live in healthy urban areas. Cities should therefore strive to improve the quality of life of their citizens and reduce their impact on the global environment.

Annual Award Process

Starting in 2010, one European city is selected each year as the European Green Capital of the year. The Award is given to a city that:

  • Has a consistent record of achieving high environmental standards and provides them with public recognition;
  • Is committed to ongoing and ambitious goals for further environmental improvement and sustainable development;
  • Can act as a role model to inspire other cities and promote best practices to all other European cities.

Benefits of being a European Green Capital City

European Green Capital Award - Award Cycle 2024

Being a European Green Capital brings many benefits long after the designated ‘winner’ year ends. Some of the city specific benefits of our previous winners are detailed below:

  • Positive media coverage 
  • Increase in international profile, networking and new alliances
  • New possibilities – green capitals have successfully exported their green products, processes and services
  • More emphasis on environmental projects through sponsorship
  • Momentum to continue improving environmental sustainability
  • Boost in local pride and feeling of belonging
  • Participation in the European Green Capital Network
  • Organisation of national and international events (Opening Ceremony, Jury Meeting, EU Green Capital Award Ceremony and Network Meetings
  • Attendance at prestigious international events (EU Green Week, Handover Ceremonies etc.)

Support in terms of event and communication management is provided throughout the year by DG Environment and the EU Green Capital Secretariat.

EU Green Capital Network

During its European Green Capital Award-winning year in 2014, the city of Copenhagen created the concept of the European Green Capital Network, exclusively dedicated to the previous winners and finalists of the Award.

The Network members’ political commitment to put sustainability at the heart of local policies makes them strong advocates for impactful sustainable urban development in Europe. To this end, members of the Network do not only debate on best practices, challenges and potential solutions between each other, but they also encourage other European cities on their paths towards a more sustainable future by providing guidance and support. 

The Network is chaired by the European Commission in close cooperation with the laureate city of the running year and automatically expands with each European Green Capital cycle.

All previous winners and finalists of the European Green Capital Award are eligible to become members of the network, contributing to and benefitting from the collective knowledge.

To this day, the Network counts 36 members, as follows:  Amsterdam, Barcelona, Bristol, Brussels, Cagliari, Copenhagen, Dijon, Essen, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Ghent, Glasgow, Grenoble, Hamburg, Helsingborg, ‘s-Hertogenbosch, Krakow, Lahti, Lille, Lisbon, Ljubljana, Malmö, Münster, Nantes, Nijmegen, Nürnberg, Oslo, Reykjavik, Sofia, Stockholm, Strasbourg, Tallinn, Turin, Umeå, Valencia, and Vitoria-Gasteiz.